I am Adam a 23-year-old happy and intelligent man who lives in Wollert. I live with my family, Kathy (Mother), John (Dad) and Daniel (Brother). I have a very kind heart, love to smile and enjoy interacting with others and usually I am willing to try new things.

My passion is art. I excel in Art especially in painting which is my preferred medium and I also enjoy working with clay to create ceramics pieces. My art has sold at recent exhibitions and there is demand for more of my work. I have sold two art pieces. I really enjoy working together with Kym who is my Ceramics teacher and Marion my Painting teacher at Diamond Creek in our art studio. Both Kym and Marion support me in exploring and creating what I love to do. I love to use strong bold colours in all my pieces. Art makes me feel happy.

In honour of my recently deceased Baba (Grandmother) I made a yellow ceramic vase, which was quickly purchased at our recent art show at the Eltham Library. As a bonus to the purchaser, I put roses in the vase as a way of remembering my Baba and assisting with my grief.

My IT skills are outstanding, I am bit of a whizz and love to work on things using the computer. I enjoy Maths and English. My likes are AFL (especially Hawthorn), cricket, basketball, golf, soccer (Melbourne City). I like, The Chase, Reading, Family Feud, Compare the Market ad (meerkat ads) and 4WD Action DVD’s.

Music is important to me and I am learning to play the guitar and learning the chords of many songs including Riptide. I enjoy looking into the history of cars, I love Mustangs. I Love to cook and I whip up many dishes with little or no support. I choose a recipe and then see what ingredients I need, go shopping and start preparing my dish. I cook dishes such as hamburgers and wedges, chicken and veggie dishes and make really yummy desserts too. I really enjoyed horse riding with Araluen in Diamond Creek, I loved to brush and prep the horses and prepare their food.

CORE Capabilities

Co-design is the process where people work together to create something of value tailored to their needs and preferences that is built around four CORE capabilities (collaboration, openness, respect, and empowerment). How these are evidenced is profiled below:

Collaboration – demonstrating how I work as part of a team.

Me creating things on the computer at Araluen.

I have been working at Chancez Tram Cafe in Diamond Creek for the last 2 years. My duties include doing: Point of sale, serving, food prep, cleaning and learning to be a barista. Mum comes up for coffee every week with her friends and family. To help promote the café I created a promo leaflet in Canva. I really enjoy Chancez café, it makes me happy, and I have learnt a lot of new skills.

Me creating a promotion flyer on Canva for the Tram Café- Diamond Creek where I work.

My dishes that I make my family for Dinner.

Openness – Demonstrating how I listen to the ideas of other team members, and how I make judgements by weighing the pros and cons of different ideas.

My ceramics piece that sold at the art show- Eltham Library.

Respect – Demonstrating how I express my ideas and how I react to the ideas of others.

In 2019 I completed an Animals studies course at Melbourne Polytechnic-Epping Campus.  I participated in this with some of my Araluen Colleagues and staff supported me too, I also worked together with students from Melbourne Polytechnic which was a great experience to work together. For the most time of the course, we worked with the steers in the barn and getting them ready for presentation at the Melbourne Show. I would help feed the steers, washed, and groomed them using a machine, make the steers food mix up using barrels to mix it, cleaned the barn and walked the steers around to get some exercise. I really enjoyed working with the steers, brushing the steers was relaxing for me and them.

Me prepping my horse for Horse Riding.

The second part of the course we studied Horticulture. We worked on garden beds and planted vegetables and our favourite flowers. We had to dig and prepare the beds with soil and then picked the vegetables when they were ready. Me tending to the garden beds while studying Animal and Horticulture Studies at Melbourne Polytechnic
Empowerment – Demonstrating my independent decision-making, how I show pride in my work and that of my team, and how I support others. Me creating a ceramics piece.

Me creating Art Pieces in the studio at Diamond Creek Araluen.

An artwork appropriation that I created in the art studio at Diamond Creek Araluen.